Our business hours:

Mon — Fri, 2am — 8pm (EST)

US & EU support teams

Phone support: Closed

We are back in: 1h 20m

Our business hours:

Mon — Fri, 2am — 8pm (EST)

US & EU support teams

How to access "off-artboard" content after saving to PDF format?

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 auxiliaryjoel

auxiliaryjoel

• Designer
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 April 2019 - 03:20 AM

I saved my .ai as .pdf in order to send a proof to client.

I then made another days worth of changes and hit "Save" and then "close".

Now I've realised that because I most recently saved as PDF, that was the file I then saved over.

My major issue now is that all the important content is sitting off the artboard, but because I've saved as PDF - I cannot access it.

I can see the data displaying within the PDF in the preview thumbnail of the document (In Illustrator's recent file list).

But when I open it, it asks me to specify an artboard and only opens the artboard content. Is there anyway that I can get to the "off-artboard" content?

#2 alexcray

alexcray

• Designer
  • 77 posts

Posted 06 March 2024 - 02:16 AM

In some versions of Adobe Illustrator, there might be a bug where saving a PDF with a single artboard actually captures the entire file, including off-artboard elements, when you reopen the PDF in Illustrator itself. This isn't the intended behavior and might not be reliable across different PDF viewers.

#3 tarhibniamul

tarhibniamul

• Designer
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 May 2024 - 03:17 PM

I saved my .ai as .pdf in order to send a proof to client.

I then made another days worth of changes and hit "Save" and then "close".

Now I've realised that because I most recently saved as PDF, that was the file I then saved over.

My major issue now is that all the important content is sitting off the artboard, but because I've saved as PDF - I cannot access it.

I can see the data displaying within the PDF in the preview thumbnail of the document (In Illustrator's recent file list).